The Greatest Balancing Act of All Time

Adapt Faster - Week 7

Read time: 4 minutes

The Greatest Balancing Act of All Time

There are two major trains of thoughts.

Unwavering optimism,

and doom seeking pessimism.

Both of them can be right. Yet I for one can only handle a limited amount of time in the presence of either.

It’s unhealthy to spend all of our time reading and consuming doom seeking pessimist views.

My wife Sara and I were recently scrolling youtube one evening and stumbled across a few of these “End of the World” videos regarding the real estate market.

We caught ourselves in the moment being influenced by pessimism.

“The entire market is going to collapse!”

Some valid data was presented. Insights were properly delivered. But guess what happened next?

YouTube’s algorithm started feeding us more and more doom seeker content.

On the contrary, if you start watching a Simon Sinek Ted talk, next thing you know you’re being shown content for some new and improved version of “the Secret.”

“All you need to do is think yourself rich, then you will be.”

Yeah, right. That’s the solution to all my problems - I think they’re solved, now they are. No hard work required.

Be careful. You will always find what you’re looking for.

There’s valuable information to be gathered in both views, but the path best travelled is the middle road.

Find balance between the two and you’ll find realism.

Acknowledgement of negative events with a positive viewpoint on what you can realistically do about it.

Adapt faster.

Transform Smarter

DISCLAIMER: I’m a vendor agnostic, humanly biased Cybersecurity Advisor by trade. If you’d like to support me, visit catchadvisors.com and talk to me face-to-face.

This week I picked up a new tool to make working with generative AI even faster. I shared 8 Chrome extensions this week on Linkedin:

My favorite one of them so far is UseChatGpt.ai - by enabling this extension, ChatGPT, Bard, & Claude are a simple CMD + J keystroke away.

I implemented this into my stack this week and it’s been a welcome change.

Here are a few use cases I’ve found handy:

  1. Summarize articles with a quick copy and paste into the sidebar

  2. Generate paragraph blocks for SOWs

  3. Re-structure written content

On Our Radar

SentinelOne ↓ 35%
SentinelOne's shares fell over 35% following missed financial goals and announced layoffs. Despite this, the company's stock had risen earlier in the year.

AI Slashes 4,000 Jobs
AI booted 4,000 people from their jobs in May, a first. And hold tight, Goldman Sachs warns it might impact 300 million jobs globally.

Always Adapting

Thanks for reading! When you signed up for this newsletter, my promise to you help you adapt faster, transform smarter, and stay ahead of the curve. What did you think of today's newsletter? Reply to this email and let me know what you'd like to see more of.

Thanks for reading.

Until next time!

p.s. if you want to sign up for the Adapt Faster newsletter or share it with a friend, you can find us here

Join the conversation

or to participate.